Welcome to the Catholic Diocese of Rockhampton

The Diocese of Rockhampton came into being on 29 December 1881. It was previously part of the greater Brisbane Archdiocese. 

The Rockhampton Diocese is one of five in the State of Queensland and one of the twenty-eight dioceses in Australia.  In 1930, the Diocese of Townsville was formed from the northern part of the Rockhampton Diocese. The main industries in the region are mining, grazing and farming. The coastal areas and nearby islands boast many beautiful tropical beaches. There are spectacular national parks as well as a number of carefully preserved ancient Aboriginal sites. Further west is the great Australian Outback.

Catholic Diocese of Rockhampton Deaneries

Click on the map below to select your deanery


More info


“As you walk beside me, Lord, lead me to recognise you in all those you place into my life this day.”


Copyright © 2012 Catholic Diocese of Rockhampton
Designed & Maintained by FMSTUDIOS